Coconut Macaroon Donuts <3

Heuuullooo there!

Question…

Have you ever wondered what a coconut macaroon flavored donut tasted like? Probably not, but let me tell you, it’s super yummy!!! I made these deeelish treats using coconut flour hence the name, ya see. So here’s the story, yesterday I decided on a very last minute basis that I wanted to celebrate America’s birthday by making patriot donuts. At my disposal…you guessed it, coconut flour. I looked up recipes online but all the recipes for donuts with coco flour involved ingredients suitable to a paleo diet, meaning items not readily available in my kitchen. I decided I had to make up my own recipe, not hating on those you have to resort to this (check out my wording there lol) but I wasn’t really in the market to substitute sugar for honey just yet :).

A major take away from reading How to Bake Pi: An Edible Exploration of Mathematics by Eugenia Cheng was that you can always substitute one ingredient for another so long as you understand the role it plays in the baking or cooking process, a fact not often stressed by cook book publishers (incentives right?).

So I’m all about easiness here so this is what I threw in the blender:

  • 6 eggs (ya generally add a lot more eggs when baking with coco flour)
  • 3/4 cup of coco flour
  • vanilla extract
  • half a cup of granulated sugar (instead of half a cup of raw honey but if you wanna go that route hey, I’m not judging ;))
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • a pinch of salt
  • 2/3 of a cup of milk (substitute for coco oil)
    • In my case for festive purposes some drops of blue dye 😀

Directions: Threw my mix in a greased donut pan and into a preheated oven (350 degrees) and baked for 16 minutes. When they cooled I melted dark chocolate and added the goodies of my choice and so can you! THE END.

donutsdoonut

Until next time,

-S ❤

Leave a Reply

